16th Mar 2020

Some fun facts along with the 2020 AMA Outdoor National schedule. 

Geico Honda | Matrix Concepts Supported Team

Eli Tomac Factory Kawasaki 2019 450 Champ

Here are some fun facts:

The Championship series started in the USA in 1972.

Sanctioned by (AMA) American Motorcycle Association.

Today series’s is managed by MX Sports Pro Racing.

12 rounds criss-cross the United States starting in mid May each year.

Each race event features 250 & 450 classes with local support classes like 125 All Stars. Including WMX at select rounds.

Women's national championship series was introduced in 1996.

Many events have an amateur day competitive the same weekend as the National. 

Some 80 riders enter each class, each weekend and go through qualifying to get to main event of 40 riders.

Today there are 2 main events per class that are 30 minutes plus 2 laps long.

Riders are scored in each main event and scores combined for an overall position for the day.

AMA Motocross is now televised each weekend. ( publishes how to watch each weekend)

All top motorcycle manufacturers now field professional teams including; Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki, Kawasaki, KTM & Husqvarna.

Several independent satellite factory teams like Pro Circuit Kawasaki, Geico Honda, JGRMX Suzuki, StarRacing Yamaha, Troy Lee Designs KTM exist today with support from factories and outside sponsors like Monster Energy and Rockstar Energy Drink.

Teams rosters consist of anywhere from 2 to 5 riders.

Many of the teams today now include an amateur “farming team system” to feed their professional rosters. 

Legend Ricky Carmichael The G.O.A.T.

Legend Bob "Hurricane" Hannah is part of the Matrix Concepts product development team today. 

2020 Schedule

  • May 16, 2020. Hangtown Classic.
  • May 23, 2020. Fox Raceway.
  • May 30, 2020. Thunder Valley.
  • June 6, 2020. WW Motocross.
  • June 20, 2020. High Point.
  • June 27, 2020. Southwick.
  • July 4, 2020. Red Bud MX.
  • July 18, 2020. Spring Creek.
  • July 25, 2020. Washougal.
  • August 15, 2020, Unadilla.
  • August 22, 2020, Budds Creek.
  • August 29, 2020, Ironman.